Merck
Wayfinding and Orientation System

The sci­ence and tech­nol­ogy com­pany Merck is ex­pand­ing its Darm­stadt site into a global head­quar­ters. The his­toric in­dus­trial site is turn­ing into a “Merck City”: state-of-the-art in­fra­struc­ture, a new In­no­va­tion Cen­ter and new, mod­ern pro­duc­tion and of­fice build­ings cre­ate an in­no­v­a­tive work­ing en­vi­ron­ment for over 10,000 em­ploy­ees. In ad­di­tion, the fam­ily busi­ness cel­e­brated its 350-year an­niver­sary at the cen­tral, re­designed Emanuel-Merck-Platz in May 2018!

In close co­op­er­a­tion (what we call co-cre­at­ing!) with Merck and the ar­chi­tec­ture of­fice HENN, who de­vel­oped a mas­ter plan for the plant and planned the In­no­va­tion Cen­ter, Moni­teurs de­signed an over­ar­ch­ing ori­en­ta­tion con­cept: out­door and in­door sig­nage as strong brand el­e­ments serve as ori­en­ta­tion on the Merck plant.

Client

Merck KGaA

Ac­com­plish­ment

Wayfind­ing and Ori­en­ta­tion Sys­tem
In­door and Out­door

Darm­stadt since 2017

Area

125 ha

Ar­chi­tec­ture

HENN

User

10,000 em­ploy­ees

Pho­tos

Ste­fan Schilling

Awards

Iconic Awards 2018, Win­ner

The sig­nage el­e­ments adopt the for­mal lan­guage of the Merck brand­ing. In­di­vid­ual “types” emerged, each of which took on spe­cific tasks: in­form­ing, point­ing the way and mark­ing places.

Merck introduced a new brand appearance in 2015 – colourful, with fascinating microbial and cellular structures and a friendly visual language. The company communicates its strengths: openness, innovation, inventiveness, diversity. Moniteurs designed as a basis a stringent content concept with consistent wording and designed “vibrant highlight elements” that not only depict the colours and structures of the new appearance, but also create them. Some outdoor elements have been further functionalised from the already installed steles.

The result is not modular, but an additive system with individual concise “types”. Together they create a diversified family!

A plan of planes, ap­plied di­rectly to one of the con­crete cores, gives the vis­i­tors an im­pres­sive over­all view of all the room of­fers and the uses of the In­no­va­tion Cen­ter.

A coloured in­te­rior cre­ates vivid re­flec­tions on the sig­nage el­e­ments, cell shapes and “strings” that make up the brand iden­tity of Merck.

Moni­teurs de­signed the user in­ter­face for the light, sun pro­tec­tion and me­dia con­trol, which takes place in the en­tire build­ing via touch panel.

The ba­sis of the ori­en­ta­tion mas­ter con­cept for the en­tire Darm­stadt site was the user group analy­sis, the de­ter­mi­na­tion of the re­quire­ments for the new sig­nage con­cept as well as the co­or­di­na­tion of all the stake­hold­ers.

A num­ber of new pic­togram mo­tifs rep­re­sent the in­no­v­a­tive ”new work en­vi­ron­ments”:
co-cre­ation, recre­ation, lab, tele­phone booth.

Seam­less tran­si­tion of brand­ing and sig­nage in the foyer of the re­search lab­o­ra­tory.

A strin­gent colour con­cept makes the new sig­nage ap­pear colour­ful in its en­tirety, but ful­fils func­tional re­quire­ments for ori­en­ta­tion sys­tems such as recog­nis­abil­ity, read­abil­ity and main­te­nance.

Around the In­no­va­tion Cen­ter and the Emanuel-Merck-Platz there is sign­post­ing for vis­i­tors and em­ploy­ees. In 2018, the en­tire Merck area was equipped with the new sig­nage.

Merck
Leit- und Orientierungssystem

Das Wis­sen­schafts- und Tech­no­lo­gie­un­ter­neh­men Merck baut sei­nen Stand­ort Darm­stadt zum glo­ba­len Head­quar­ter aus. Der his­to­ri­sche In­dus­trie­stand­ort wan­delt sich zu ei­ner „Merck City“: zeit­ge­mä­ße In­fra­struk­tur, ein neu­es In­no­va­ti­on Cen­ter und neue mo­der­ne Pro­duk­ti­ons- und Bü­ro­ge­bäu­de schaf­fen ein in­no­va­ti­ves Ar­beits­um­feld für die über 10.000 Mit­ar­bei­ter. Und, das Fa­mi­li­en­un­ter­neh­men fei­er­te am zen­tra­len neu ge­stal­te­ten Ema­nu­el-Merck-Platz im Mai 2018 sein 350-Jahr-Fir­men­ju­bi­lä­um!

Mo­ni­teurs ge­stal­te­te in en­ger Zu­sam­men­ar­beit (Co-Crea­ting!) mit Merck und dem Ar­chi­tek­tur­bü­ro HENN, die für das Werk ei­nen Mas­ter­plan ent­wi­ckel­ten und das In­no­va­ti­on Cen­ter ge­plant ha­ben, ein über­grei­fen­des Ori­en­tie­rungs­kon­zept: Out­door- und In­door-Si­gna­ge als star­ke Brand­ele­men­te die­nen der Ori­en­tie­rung auf dem Merck-Werks­ge­län­de.

Leit- und Ori­en­tie­rungs­sys­tem
Ge­bäu­de und Au­ßen­ge­län­de

Darm­stadt seit 2017

Auf­trag­ge­ber

Merck KGaA

Flä­che

125 ha

Ar­chi­tek­tur

HENN

Nut­zer

10.000 Mit­ar­bei­ter

Fo­tos

Ste­fan Schil­ling

Die Signage Elemente greifen die Formensprache des Merck-Brandings auf. Es entstanden individuelle „Typen“, die jeweils spezifische Aufgaben übernehmen: informieren, wegweisen und Orte kennzeichnen.

Merck führte 2015 einen neuen Auftritt der Unternehmensmarke ein – farbenfroh, mit faszinierenden Mikroben- und Zellstrukturen und einer freundlichen visuellen Sprache kommuniziert das Unternehmen seine Stärken: Offenheit, Innovation, Ideenreichtum, Vielfältigkeit. Moniteurs entwarf ein stringentes Konzept, mit einheitlichem Wording und entwarf „Vibrant Highlight-Elemente“, die Farben und Strukturen des neuen Erscheinungsbildes nicht nur abbilden, sondern erzeugen. Einige Outdoor-Elemente wurden von den bereits installierten Stelen funktional weiterenwickelt.

Entstanden ist kein modulares, sondern ein additives System mit einzelnen prägnanten „Typen“. Zusammen entsteht eine bunte Familie!

Ein Ebenenplan, direkt auf einen der Betonkerne aufgebracht, gibt den Besuchern einen eindrucksvollen Gesamtüberblick über alle Raumangebote und Nutzungen des Innovation Centers.

Farbiges Interior lässt auf den Signageelementen lebhafte Spiegelungen entstehen, Zellformen und „Strings“, die die Markenidentität von Merck ausmachen.

Moniteurs gestaltete die Bedienoberfläche/UI für die Licht-, Sonnenschutz- und Mediensteuerung, die im gesamten Gebäude per Touch Panel erfolgt.

Grundlage des Masterkonzepts Orientierung für den Gesamtstandort Darmstadt war die Benutzergruppenanalyse, die Ermittlung der Anforderungen an das neue Signagekonzept sowie die Abstimmung mit allen Stakeholdern.

Ein Reihe von neuen Piktogrammmotiven repräsentieren das innovatives Arbeitumfeld: Co-creation, Recreation, Lab, Telephone booth – new work environments.

Nahtloser Übergang von Branding und Signage im Foyer des Forschungslabors.

Ein stringentes Farbkonzept lässt das neue Signage in seiner Gesamtheit bunt erscheinen, erfüllt jedoch funktionale Anforderungen an Leit- und Orientierungssystemen wie Wiedererkennbarkeit, Lesbarkeit, Maintenance.

Rings um das Innovation Center und den Emanuel-Merck-Platz erfolgt eine Wegweisung für Besucher und Mitarbeiter. 2018 wird das gesamte Merck-Areal mit dem neuen Signage ausgestattet.