How we do signage
How we understand orientation

A guidance and orientation system, or signage, forms a meta-level that expands a space with information. In many buildings, this information, in the form of signposts or markings, is a basic requirement in order for people to be able to orientate themselves in it at all. In airports, urban areas or museums with thousands of visitors a day, orientation systems are an important part of the overall communication. They contribute to the effective use of space, to the well-being of people and to the formation of identity.

People use a variety of strategies to reach their destinations. Some orientate themselves consciously, using cognitive methods, while others are more intuitive. For us, as wayfinding experts, this means that we think of orientation concepts on a much broader basis. We create clear structures, we set emotional signals and develop an authentic design.

In a mu­seum with many thou­sands of vis­i­tors a day, the ori­en­ta­tion sys­tem is a con­stant com­pan­ion in ex­plor­ing the space. When well de­signed, it con­tributes to the iden­tity of the build­ing.

Move­ment flows, mo­bil­ity con­cepts, nam­ing – these are the top­ics we are work­ing on in­ten­sively at the be­gin­ning of a pro­ject.

Not only are the tar­get points of the in­di­vid­ual user groups to be de­fined, the source points also play a ma­jor role in the de­sign of the ori­en­ta­tion sys­tem. Where do most vis­i­tors come from? Which ways do they go and what can be im­proved in the ori­en­ta­tion? Through in­for­ma­tion graph­ics we share our knowl­edge with our pro­ject part­ners and de­velop in­di­vid­ual con­cepts.

Vis­i­tor flows can vary de­pend­ing on the time of day. The con­trol sys­tem should take into ac­count all us­age sce­nar­ios.

By working together with builders, architects, operators and users on the conception, we create sustainable orientation systems that fulfil their task effectively and in the long term. They are user-friendly, they communicate corporate values, create identity and tell the story of a place. Analyses, workshops and consultations form the basis for a concept, and it is at these stages that many questions are answered: What goals do I pursue with the orientation system? Which language do I speak, internationally, with the minimum of graphics? What is the mobility concept? How global is the system, which areas are included, which interfaces does it have? Which materials should be used and why?

Because we like to think systematically and we love contemporary design, we work with enthusiasm on orientation systems. We are wayfinding experts! Our large pool of knowledge, participation in specialist conferences, trade fairs and meet-ups enable us to effectively plan complex orientation systems.

Overlap with our other work areas is obvious: digital products support orientation; orientation systems are part of a higher-level brand strategy; design concepts are comprehensive and develop, in their whole, a strength of unity.

How we do signage?
Wie entsteht Orientierung?

Ein Leit- und Orientierungssystem oder Signage bildet eine Metaebene, die den Raum um Informationen erweitert. In vielen Gebäuden sind diese Informationen in Form von Wegweisern oder Kennzeichnungen Grundvorraussetzung, um sich darin überhaupt orientieren zu können. In Flughäfen, im Stadtraum oder im Museum mit vielen tausend Besuchern am Tag sind Orientierungssysteme wichtiger Bestandteil der Gesamtkommunikation. Sie tragen zur effektiven Nutzung von Räumen, zum Wohlbefinden der Menschen und zur Identitätsbildung bei.

Menschen nutzen vielfältige Strategien, um ans Ziel zu kommen. Einige orientieren sich bewusst, mithilfe kognitiver Methoden, andere lassen sich eher intuitiv leiten. Für uns als Wayfinding-Experten bedeutet das, dass wir unsere Orientierungskonzepte auf eine breite Basis stellen. Wir schaffen klare Strukturen, wir setzen emotionale Signale und entwickeln eine authentische Gesaltung.

Im Mu­se­um mit vie­len tau­send Be­su­chern pro Tag ist das Leit­sys­tem ein stän­di­ger Be­glei­ter beim Er­kun­den des Rau­mes. Gut ge­stal­tet, trägt es zum Iden­ti­tät des Ge­bäu­des bei.

Be­we­gungs­trö­me, Mo­bi­li­täts­kon­zep­te, Be­nen­nun­gen – das sind die The­men, mit de­nen wir uns bei Pro­jekt­be­ginn in­ten­siv be­schäf­ti­gen.

Nicht nur die Ziel­punk­te der ein­zel­nen Nut­zer­grup­pen sind zu de­fi­nie­ren, auch die Quell­punk­te spie­len für die Kon­zep­ti­on des Leit- und Ori­en­tie­rungs­sys­tems eine gro­ße Rol­le. Wo­her kom­men die meis­ten Be­su­cher? Wel­che Wege ge­hen sie und was kann an der Ori­en­tie­rung ver­bes­sert wer­den? Über In­for­ma­ti­ons­gra­fi­ken tei­len wir un­ser Wis­sen mit un­se­ren Pro­jekt­part­nern und ent­wi­ckeln in­di­vi­du­el­le Kon­zep­te.

Be­su­cher­strö­me kön­nen je nach Ta­ges­zeit un­ter­schied­lich sein. Im Leit­sys­tem soll­ten alle Nut­zungs­sze­na­ri­en be­rück­sich­tigt wer­den.

In dem wir gemeinsam mit Bauherrn, Architekten, Betreibern und Nutzern an der Konzeption arbeiten, schaffen wir nachhaltige Orientierungssysteme, die ihr Aufgabe effektiv und langfristig erfüllen. Sie sind nutzerfreundliche gestaltet, sie kommunizieren Unternehmenswerte, schaffen Identität und erzählen die Geschichte eines Ortes. Analysen, Workshops und Beratungsgespräche bilden die Grundlage für ein Konzept, viele Fragen werden beantwortet: Welche Ziele verfolge ich mit dem Leitsystem? Welche Sprache spreche ich, international, bildhaft minimal? Wie ist das Mobilitätskonzept? Wie global ist das System, welche Bereiche schließ es ein, welche Schnittstellen hat es? Welches Material soll verwendet werden und warum?

Da wir gerne systematisch denken und zeitgenössisches Design lieben, arbeiten wir mit Begeisterung an Orientierungssystemen. Wir sind Wayfinding-Experten! Unser großer Wissenspool, die Teilnahme an Fachkonferenzen, Messen und Meet-ups ermöglichen uns eine effektive Planung komplexer Orientierungssysteme.

Schnittstellen zu unseren anderen Bereichen sind gewünscht: digitale Produkte unterstützen Orientierung, Leitsysteme sind Teil einer übergeordneten Brand Strategie. Gestaltungskonzepte sind übergreifend und entwickeln in der Gesamtheit eine besondere Kraft.